Authors Helping Authors

Can you be honest? Part 2 of 3

Part 2 of 3 as promised Last Friday! Leave Reba a comment and tell her how you related to this article…we’ve all dealt with the issues she talks about in this series, with our own manuscripts.

reba ponder weiss

When I got back my original manuscripts from my (beta) readers, two out of the three hated the ending. They said they felt cheated and almost angry. I was crushed! I loved my ending! Instead of taking it personally, I needed to take the overall idea that my ending needed something more.  It was a clear signal I needed to rework my ending. Please note: I still get critical feedback about my ending, so maybe I should have worked it more.  You don’t have to take every suggestion they make to heart, but you better think long and hard if two early readers agree on something. Five people read my book in the beginning and I am so thankful for their honesty, suggestions and corrections.

If you have a publisher, you won’t have this problem. They will do it for you. Be aware, their readers will be a lot tougher than any reader…

View original post 277 more words

2 thoughts on “Can you be honest? Part 2 of 3

  1. Hi Reba,
    Interesting article, and I agree that we need to have thick skin when reading reviews or getting comments. One thing I always keep in mind. The other person is expressing his own point of view, based on his experiences, bias, and a truckload of other neurosis. His opinion is no better than anybody else’s. The only criticism worth anything, in my opinion – see, personal viewpoint! – is one from a professional editor. Even there, we as authors rule. Eye of the beholder and all that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

