Authors Helping Authors

Maintaining Enthusiasm

a little something just for inspiration today…thank you Destiny Allison, for sharing your experience and writing to inspire…

Destiny Allison

Maintaining enthusiasm can be hard, even when you’re passionate, love what you do, and believe in yourself. It’s easy to get lost in all the tedious parts of your craft or be consumed by the ever present marketing of your work. 

Creativity requires juice — hot, electric, and wet, but juice doesn’t come from a muse. No bolt of inspirational lightning will bring it on. It is not some magical genie that retreats into a bottle when the mood strikes. No, creativity comes from the doing.

After I published Shaping Destiny, I spent most of my time trying to market the book. When I wasn’t marketing, I was checking my stats, my rankings, and googling the book to see if someone had reviewed it without my knowledge. This was a waste of time.

Don’t get me wrong, social media can be wonderful and I’ve met some amazing people…

View original post 375 more words

Leave a Reply

