Authors Helping Authors

Authors: Do you prefer writing Narration or Dialogue? Why???

Thanks to “Creative Writing with the Crimson League ” for this friday reblog post. They certainly deserve an AHA moment !

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

1382970_talking_guysDialogue: one of the craziest things about being an author, for sure.

Writing dialogue is never a simple process–especially when you’re dealing with a character who’s too dang witty and sarcastic for his or her own good–and always involves a lot of editing. Still, I prefer dialogue to narration: more on that in a moment.

Dialogue’s on my mind because I just edited, and substantially updated, the dialogue chapter in my writer’s handbook that I’m still hoping to release on July 31st.

It’s become one of my favorite chapters. I discuss how in dialogue, by and large the rules don’t apply. I discuss how dialogue can aid characterization. I discuss what pitfalls you should look out for when you use dialogue for exposition purposes, and I talk about character catchphrases, dialogue tags, and direct address.

I added more examples to the chapter, one from my own work that I feel…

View original post 615 more words

One thought on “Authors: Do you prefer writing Narration or Dialogue? Why???

Leave a Reply

